This article explains when events can be canceled or deleted and how to cancel an event.
Published chapter events can be canceled by community admins and chapter team members that are assigned chapter team roles that contain permissions to cancel, view, and edit events.
Cancel Event vs. Delete Event
Cancel an event
Once an event has been published, it can only be canceled. Once it has been canceled, it will be listed under the Canceled section of the event dashboard in the chapter.
You cannot delete a published event
Delete an Event
Once an event has been saved as a draft, it can be deleted. Draft events can be either published or deleted. They cannot be canceled.
Chapter team members: If you are unable to cancel and delete events and believe this is an error, please get in touch with your community administrator to verify.
How to cancel a published event
- In the Chapter Dashboard, select Events in the sidebar menu.
- On the Live or Draft tab find the event to cancel.
- Open the menu for that event, and then click Cancel event.
- Click OK.
Canceling an event is irreversible; you cannot modify or republish a canceled event. However, you can duplicate a canceled event to recreate it with the same event details. People who have registered for the canceled event will need to re-register for the new (duplicated) event.