This article explains how to automatically add Bevy events to a connected Google Calendar. Learn more about setting up the integration in the dashboard here.
Admins can add the Google Calendar integration to their instance so that new events published in Bevy are automatically added to a shared Google Calendar too. This is a one-way connection, which means that changes made to the Google Calendar event aren't published to the Bevy event.
After the integration is set up, all changes to the Bevy event are automatically made to the Google Calendar event in real time.
You can add one-time events or recurrent events to the Google Calendar. Just know that recurring events won't be published to Google Calendar as connected, recurring events.
Bevy populates information in the Google Calendar event including:
- Calendar ID
- Event start
- Event end
- This is the Bevy Event title
- This is the Bevy Short event description
- This is either the event URL or event address
- Guests can modify
- This is set to No
- Guests can invite others
- This is set to No
Currently all events created in a Bevy instance are published to the same calendar.
Set up the integration
Admins can set up the integration in their dashboard. To add the integration:
- In the Admin dashboard, select Settings from the left-hand sidebar menu.
- Go to the Integrations tab.
- Turn on the Connect toggle for the Google Calendar integration.
This opens a dialog.
- Enter your Google account information in the dialog, and then authenticate the integration.
- Select the calendar to connect, and then save.
After you finish this setup, events published in Bevy automatically publish to the Google Calendar you connect. Existing events are not published to the calendar.
After you set up this integration it publishes public events you publish, but not hidden events.
Change the Google Calendar
You can only connect one calendar at a time. You might want to test the integration by connecting a personal calendar first. After you're done testing, you can edit the integration settings to change the connected calendar.
If you disconnect the integration, events published to a Google Calendar are not deleted or updated.