This article outlines how to create, join, and close breakout rooms during the Bevy Virtual Meetup experience
Create a breakout room
As a host/moderator, use the Breakout rooms icon to open the option in the sidebar to create breakout rooms.
To create a breakout room:
- From the dropdown, choose the amount of rooms you would like to create, up to 30.
- The number of attendees per room is calculated automatically. For example, for 20 rooms and 201 attendees, each room will have 10 attendees.
To ensure that a single attendee is never left alone, a room could have 11 attendees in this example.
- You can create a max of 30 rooms, with 500 attendees per room
- Set a breakout session time limit by selecting Time limit and inputting the duration in minutes. Attendees will return to the event when time's up. 15 minutes is the maximum time limit.
- Select Create to trigger the rooms.
- All attendees will be moved to a breakout room after some time. It's also possible for them to join directly from the notification popup or the Breakout Rooms tab in the right sidebar:
As a host/moderator, once the breakout rooms start, you will see a countdown at the top of the Breakout Rooms tab in the sidebar indicating when the breakout rooms will be closed according to the time limit set.
If attendees join the event after you have created the breakout rooms, they can join a room from the sidebar.
Join a breakout room as a host/moderator
As a host/moderator, you can join a breakout room automatically (default) or by choosing a room manually.
End breakout room
Hosts can close breakout rooms at anytime, even if there's a set time limit:
In the Breakout Rooms sidebar, to close all rooms, click Close all rooms. And then confirm the action in the popup:
To learn more about managing breakout rooms, see Breakout rooms FAQs.